3 x Things Dutch people do (and why I care)

This post is not to hurt anyone, and I hope the Dutch friends I have will not walk away after reading it. This list is made out of my own observations and conclusions, and I will free myself from any type of responsibility according to the text. Enjoy!

1 Like every language, also the Dutch have their own nice and original twists in it. In Dutch language, every word usually gets “je” after the actual word. I´m not quite sure is it to make everything cuter or? If someone has an answer for this do tell! Why do I care: Anyway, I cant help it, but every time I hear it, this happens in my mind. Things get smaller.

Have you ever heard a Dutch saying in English “Let’s go for a small beer/ Let’s do a small beer before” Yeaha, this explains it right?

 

tafeltje

2 They do “Stilte Saunas” – “Always the fuzz about Sauna. “We happen to know best, yes. OK so Silent Sauna. Sauna here is considered as a treat, which doesn’t happen often. Well, to the wellness centers I have gone to Sauna, they have Saunas that are called Finnish Sauna. But 90% of them, are silent. 60% of them, you cant pour water to the fireplace.

Why do I care: This is why I trust no-one.

3 Dutch keep asking questions. I read it somewhere before, the Dutch dont much enjoy being at the center of attention. They prefer to ask questions. Thousands of questions. Not only from foreigners but from everyone. It goes really funny when two Dutch meet for the first time and they both are avoiding being in spotlight. It doesn’t affect me in negative way, but it is still overwhelming to keep up with all the “????”.

Why do I care: More than 10 strangers knows way more than the should about my, from simple queuing, supermarket, bus, train – conversation. Its not that I blame those who ask, maybe I shouldn’t feel too kind and answer.

Leave a Reply

